This is “Acknowledgments”, article 1 from the book Writers' Handbook (v. 1.0). For details on it (including licensing), click here.

For more information on the source of this book, or why it is available for free, please see the project's home page. You can browse or download additional books there. To download a .zip file containing this book to use offline, simply click here.

Has this book helped you? Consider passing it on:
Creative Commons supports free culture from music to education. Their licenses helped make this book available to you. helps people like you help teachers fund their classroom projects, from art supplies to books to calculators.


I'd like to recognize

  • Ellen McPeek Glisan for her extensive work helping to create an early sketch and draft of significant portions of the book;
  • Carol Whitney for her early project management expertise;
  • Michael Boezi for his early encouragement of this project and his consistent enthusiasm for it throughout;
  • Jeff Shelstad for taking the time to talk with my department in January of 2009;
  • Eric Frank for his vision for the future of textbooks and higher education;
  • Pam Hersperger for her steady editorial hand and command of the complicated process of putting a book like this together;
  • Claire Hunter for her editorial assistance and encouragement;
  • Stacy Claxton, Christina Chimi, Elvis Ramirez, and the copy editors and formatting experts at Scribe;
  • Kelly McDonald, Jen Welchans, Brett Sullivan, and others at Unnamed Publisher who have helped to get the word out about this book and the concepts behind it;
  • my colleagues in composition at J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College, across the commonwealth of Virginia, and around the country;
  • my family for their patience with my monomaniacal devotion to this project; and
  • my students, who inspire me every day with their courage and determination to make a better life for themselves, their families, and their communities.

The author and Unnamed Publisher would like to acknowledge the following reviewers:

  • Miranda S. Miller

    Gillette College

  • Melanie Jenkins

    Snow College

  • Jon Zonderman

    Naugatuck Valley Community College

    University of Bridgeport

  • Dr. Robert Soza

    Mesa Community College

  • Sheila R. Craft

    Ivy Tech Community College

  • Brett H. Bodily

    North Lake College

  • Marilyn Wooldridge

    Tarrant County College

  • Dr. Julia Sexton

    Tarrant County Community College—South Campus

  • Lindsey Davis

    Tarrant County College

  • Andrew S. Tomko

    Bergen Community College

  • Lisa M. Giles

    University of New England

  • Vickie Melograno

    Atlantic Cape Community College

  • Dr. L. Lennie Irvin

    San Antonio College

  • Jeff Landon

    John Tyler Community College

  • Karyn L. Smith

    Housatonic Community College

  • Jonathan Purkiss

    Pulaski Technical College

  • Jennifer Ravey

    Lamar University

  • Kristen M. Dechert

    Mississippi State University

  • Martha Michieka

    East Tennessee State University